Trying 

Ever get that feeling,
Like your outside is covered in gasoline
and your insides are in flames?
like you might just combust any moment if the two ever collide?
But what’s the point to resist?
I’d burn the pain away and rain down in ashes, marking the foreheads of those I love
so they would remember my name.
remember me as the girl who spoke sweet words,
as the girl who felt like warm sugar, just trying her best to caramalize.
trying to melt her imperfections into something a little less coarse,
but these little monsters of flaws breed anew too soon.
Please just remember the sweetness, the salty tears are mine to keep.
And I’ll try to remember I’m important, muzzling my fires within.

Leave a Reply

